DON’T FLATTER ME!

Don’t flatter me!–

What does it even mean–
that stuff you say?

How can I
really matter?–
Me?

Don’t shower me
with adulation!m

I’m grown up now,
ought to’ve outgrown
the need
to feel
nice ego strokes
or hear
some sorta
pre-mortem
true cathartic ululation.

Don’t love me,
like me,
or tell me anything
too nice!!

It really doesn’t
feel quite right. . .

I wonder
how
+++++to find a way
+++++to let it in,
++++++++++in a receiving,
+++++++++++++++flowing, giving way,
+++++and answer back
++++++++++with heartfelt thanks
+++++++++++++++with glibbest ease
+++++++++++++++spoke in a trice,

and whether,
+++++for this
+++++I must
+++++till my next lifetime wait,

or else,
+++++if I can pass through
+++++some kind of
+++++tight-closed iron gate
+++++to a different feeling, being space
+++++in THIS incarnation.

Fodder
for this baby-stepping plodder
to use
+++++in quiet meditation
+++++and
+++++in boldest, bravest
+++++pioneering, far sea-faring
+++++brands of exploration.

This entry was posted in Poetic Musing (Longer Poems), Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

