A LITTLE SPRIG OF MISTLETOE

A little sprig
of mistletoe
tied up high
or some way other rigged
where unsuspecting humans go. . .

but,
I wonder,
would it cause
those who under
its leaves and berries
blush or kiss,
to blanch,

if, instead,
wheresoever they would go,
they’d get instead
an offer of an olive branch?

And what, then,
ever possibly
could follow,
from such a gift,
quite well presented
and received
from and to
a human fellow?

Can you imagine?

As for me,
I do not know,
that I could ever swear, for sure,
that
yes, I can
or
no, I can’t.

This entry was posted in Medium Length Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

