TEDDY BEAR, COME HERE

Teddy bear. . .
come here!
Stay near.

For I’ve
landed in
a brand new,
empty year

It’s started out as fun,
which will continue on. . .

And yet,
this drought
still dampers me
to much more than a fleeting pout,

as loneliness
so deep
as ne’er before,
penetrating to the core,
into my every cell
and molecule,
does creep. . .

It’s clear–
I am a child no more–
it’s time to be
a grown-up now,
and strong. . .

I fear, though,
for the big unknown
of how
I will
through so much
difficulty plough,
or
of the dread eventuality
that I may
not
do so
successfully,

Being quite
out of the stream
of this crazed world’s
rushing throng. . .

So
I need you–
so round, cushy and warm–
to comfort me,
steadfast
through this fearsome landscape,
though I know
it may be rocky
or hit hard by storm–

For I can count on you
to keep your cool,
stay still fuzzy
and still
to keep me company
hugged safely to my belly,

And to permit
that I may dare
to tread a pace
until I see
my hope-filled day
of bravery,
when I will sing
a beauteous wonder-song. . .

And my clear, melodious voice
will toward the sky
fly high. . .

and bounce through every sacred place
from steep points
bright cathedral vaults
to the low-lit musty space
of immortal artist’s lofts. . .

So, Fuzzy–
PLEASE
DO stay with me,
though some cold stares
will have their way with me.

But
with your help,
resilient me
will stand so firm,
look up,
respond with joy
and spontaneity
in one wide smile,
which I’ll give in generosity
even to the ones
who at me scoff.

This entry was posted in Poetic Musing (Longer Poems), Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

